Rúrok: A Samgyupsal Rooftop Experience

Earlier this year, my husband and I stumbled into a Korean barbecue dining place somewhere in Tondo, Manila. They claimed to be the first rooftop bar and grill located at Herbosa Street, corner Quezon Street in Don Bosco, Tondo. Out of curiosity and since it's been a while since I have eaten a Samgyupsal, we decided to try and see for ourselves what the hype is all about.

It was situated on a rooftop of a fifth-floor apartment building. It doesn’t have an elevator thus prepare your lungs and legs for the climb. The vibe at the top is cozy enough. We went at dinner time and since it’s an al fresco dining there was a generally cool ambiance. The menu offers a wide array of unlimited dishes from Korean barbecues, side dishes, sizzling plates, bar snacks and a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. Since I’ve been craving Samgyupsal, we ordered unlimited Korean barbecues, side dishes and vodka cocktails to spice things up.



The food isn’t that pricey, hence I do not have high expectations about it. But it was generally good considering its price. The staffs are all accommodating, and there’s a live band that performs every night with is a plus point. The serving time is great and you can also self-serve side dishes for your convenience. There weren’t many customers at the time of our visit therefore it wasn’t that crowded and noisy. 

Overall, it was a pretty nice experience and if I’m gonna give it a rating, a 3.5 out of 5 would be reasonable. You get your money’s worth. That being said, I think it’s not something I would come back to again immediately, but I would probably visit again if something new comes up. 

Anyway, it would be nice if you could experience it yourself. Everything you need to know is listed here on their Facebook page. Try it out and let me know your thoughts.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑