Top 5 Movie Picks for January

I don’t consider myself a movie-savvy, but I do love films and I enjoy learning anything about it from their creation, production design, art forms and everything in between. I also don’t know how to give a suitable movie review or critique. Hence, as much as possible, I avoid giving out reviews or any opinions about films because I fear that I cannot give justice or even a proper criticism of the craft.

Having said that, since I’m not a film critic but, as I said, I love movies so much, I’ve chosen to recommend my top 5 movie picks each month instead, with a little bit of premise and rating. 

Here are my top favorites for January (in no particular order):

Avatar: The Way of Water (2022), James Cameron
[9.5/10]
The highly anticipated sequel to Avatar. This second installment focuses on James Sully’s family and how they’re forming alliances to face the biggest threat of their lives.



The Menu (2022), Mark Mylod
[8/10]
The film centers on a couple who explores a private island where a renowned chef has prepared a menu with a shocking twist.



Call Me by Your Name (2017), Luca Guadagnino
[8.5/10]
A teenage boy discovers a kindling desire over one summer that changed his life forever. 



Baka Bukas (2016), Samantha Lee
[7/10]
A story of a closeted lesbian and her secret love for her childhood best friend 



12 Years A Slave (2013), Steve McQueen
[9/10]
A free man was kidnapped and sold as a slave for 12 years.




Have you watched any of these films yet? What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑